Heeyyyyyy! What’s up, my people? Crikey, it’s been a while since I’ve done something more meaningful than E-Cards (though my inbox says y’all are still liking those 😉 ) or a half-asses review of a movie. Oh my god, it’s been so long since I’ve seen a movie. . .

As some of you may remember, I’ve been periodically making little announcements here and there about my journey to law school and then subsequently went silent because suddenly, it was all happening at once. I went to Europe for a huge chunk of the summer and then was scrambling around to get moved into my new apartment and then all of a sudden, law school was here. It was happening!

cruella lightning

So it’s been a week (ooh, a whole week!) and I wanted to share some of my thoughts about the first plunge into the dreaded ocean that is law school.

First of all, I just want to say, no matter what you hear and what the other idiots people say, nothing is as scary as your mind makes it out to be through the haze of the utterly unknown.

fyi

It is easier than “they” said it would be? HELL NO! But am I drowning in despair and drinking roughly my weight in alcohol every weekend? HELL NO! I refuse to be a statistic!

guitar smash

Don’t get me wrong, it’s hard. I’m up to my eyeballs in reading every night just to keep up with it all. Every time I think I’m getting ahead, it’s never as much as I think I am. And this is a bit weird for me, coming from undergrad and then my job, where 95% of the time, I was weeks ahead of every deadline and assignment due date. So that’s an adjustment.

But all things considered, so far, it’s really interesting. I’m having to suddenly use my brain again for something other than the blank, semi-comatose state of transcription that I’d been in for most of the last two years and suddenly, I’m being challenged to think once more! (Old job, I loved you, but you were really attempting to kill my nerve cells through lack of use)

shrug

And maybe its because of where I’m going, but there is absolutely no cutthroat attitude among my classmates, which makes the atmosphere a lot more engaging and a lot less terrifying.

fuck yeah

This isn’t Legally Blonde (shoutout to my coworkers who got that movie for me when I left! Love you guys!) by any stretch. Of course, this is CU Boulder, not Harvard. If there’s anything Boulder people know, it’s how to have fun, right?

169544-eliza-dushku-its-just-like-fun-bnxj

So is law school hard? Absolutely. Is it this terrifying black hole of despair and never ending reading? Well, obviously not. I’m sitting here typing out my thoughts instead of reading aren’t I? (Ha ha, joke’s on you. I’ve been awake for two hours already and have done a chunk of my morning reading oh god help meeeee) But in all seriousness, law school is interesting. Challenging in a new way that most people aren’t prepared for, I would say. That’s where the difficulty in law school lies: the absolute about-face you have to do to start reading and comprehending and “thinking like a lawyer” to be amazingly cliche.

no idea thor

And we’re all in the same little Thor boat and that’s okay. It should be more okay in the world today to say that we don’t know. But we have to follow it up with “but I can learn.” And that’s in essence what law school is. And that’s kind of neat.

subtle thumbs up

Leave a Reply

